School Excellence Fund – Digital

We were honoured earlier to have our school represented in UCD at the launch by Minister for Education Richard Bruton of the Schools Excellence Fund (Digital).

The newly established School Excellence Fund encourages collaboration in the use of digital technology, STEM (science, technology, engineering and maths), tackling creativity. It is the first time resources have been put in place to encourage schools to work together locally to trial ideas.

We are delighted to announce that our cluster proposal was successful and we look forward to working alongside a number of very innovative and creative schools and leaders in Mayo. This will be a three year project focused on the development of teachers competencies and a continuum of computational thinking (problem solving) across all our classes.

It promises to be a very exciting initiative allowing our schools and teachers the opportunity to work together, share good practice while focusing on developing the important skills our children will need to thrive in the future.

Our Partner schools for this project are ..

Attymass NS Ballina
Bofield NS Ballina
Behy NS Ballina
Stokane NS, Corballa Co.Sligo
St.Angela’s NS Castlebar
Castlebar ETNS
Craggagh NS Kiltimagh
Scoil Phadraig Westport
Cloghans Hill NS
Lehinch NS Hollymount
St.Joseph’s NS Ballinrobe

We look forward to working with our partners and are so excited to be one of 265 schools at Primary/Post Primary nationally to have been selected.

It promises to be a wonderful learning experience for young and old!